Columbia Interchange Jacket

Columbia Jacket

Columbia.com

Usually I review photography gear, but I am making an exception for this jacket. I received it for Christmas and have had a few months to try it out during the bitter Houston winter. I jest. Though I have to admit my body has adjusted to Houston heat so anything below sixty degrees has me griping about how it’s “freezing”. Anyways, I’d been eyeing an interchangeable winter jacket for some time. I was between The North Face and Columbia. The price range is pretty similar between the two brands, but I preferred the styles from Columbia.

I purchased the Women’s Thermalistic Interchange Jacket in Abyss. As of today it looks like the jacket is only available in black. Note: If they do offer the Abyss color again (shown here), it’s navy blue rather than black. (I thought it was black and the pink inner jacket made the difference between black and abyss. Nopes.)

From the website:

  • Omni-Heat™ thermal reflective liner
  • Omni-Tech™ waterproof/breathable fully seam sealed
  • Omni-Shield™ advanced repellency liner
  • Zip-in Interchange System
  • Removable, adjustable storm hood
  • Underarm venting
  • Drawcord adjustable hem
  • Interior security pocket
  • Zippered arm pocket
  • Media and goggle pocket
  • Adjustable cuff tabs
christmas story

I can’t put my arms down!

The inner jacket is lined with the Omni-Heat reflective liner so it reflects your body heat to keep you warm and toasty. Warning: It’s super shiny silver! Both the jackets have exterior and interior pockets. The outer shell has zippered pockets which is nice. My favorite part is the way the pieces are held together to keep the inner jacket from bunching up when worn with the outer shell. The zipper on the inner jacket is reversible so it easily zips into the outer shell. It has loops to connect the sleeves and the collar to the outer shell. I have only worn it this way a few times since we don’t have extreme cold weather here. But I will say it kept me warm and dry.

The outer shell works nicely as a standalone rain jacket. The inner piece also works nicely as a standalone jacket and fits snugly. I hate the bulky jackets I have had in the past. My requirement this time around was to be able to comfortably sit with the jacket on and actually be able to bend my arms. Plus, you get two jackets for the price of one!’

5/5
TL;DR: I recommend this jacket for cold and rainy weather. The two pieces function well together or separately.

Note: I have no affiliation with Columbia. I have not been compensated in any way for this review. Opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

