Currently: New Year’s, Austin, and Crab Legs

vineyard treeVisit to a vineyard on a stormy day for my and Frank’s shared birthday

Feeling: Grateful but overwhelmed. Some people don’t buy into New Year’s resolutions… linear time, human constructs, blah blah. Sometimes I make resolutions, but I view them more as goals. I’m grateful for this time to refocus and re-energize, but I am a bit overwhelmed trying to develop a plan for 2015. I have so much I want to accomplish, but I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around all of it. My stubborn cold isn’t helping either.

Watching: Netflix! I’ve been an on and off subscriber of Netflix from the good ole’ DVD only days. Now that I have Netflix again Frank and I are excited to get back to some of our old series. We started but never finished Dexter, the Sopranos, and Breaking Bad. Right now though it’s Walking Dead and Dr. Who. Walking Dead creates some weird feelings of nostalgia since it’s based in Atlanta. (We’re just on the first season.) Also, I’m sad we’re almost caught up on Dr. Who. I still miss David Tennant (the Matt Bellamy of Dr. Who’s).

Reading: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I finished the The Chamber Of Secrets earlier this week and dove into the third book. I was ten years old when the first book came out in 1997. I was an avid, sophisticated reader as a kid, so I tried out the first book but found it too childish. My little sister loved the books so, of course, that made me like them less. I even remember being angry because the first movie was released on my birthday and my family went to see it. I didn’t get to pick the movie on my own birthday! Obviously as an adult, my love of fantasy fiction has taken over and I’m coming around.

Looking Forward To: My weekend in Austin, Texas! It’s funny because my last currently post in October featured the Austin City Limits Festival. During that visit I only attended the festival for a day, so I didn’t get a chance to experience any of the city. I’ve heard it’s a really cool town, so I’m excited to finally get a chance to explore. Also, I am attending a food photography workshop! I’m mega excited about it as one of my goals for 2015 is to really ramp up the food side of my photography business. Plus, I rented a macro lens to try out for the weekend. Yeah, I’m geeking out.

Making Me Happy: Getting to spend some time relaxing with my husband over the holidays. Toward the end of the year both our schedules became pretty hectic. Luckily we both managed to take a few days off for both Christmas and New Year’s. For our first Christmas in Houston and away from our families, we decided to do things our way. We decided to forgo the traditional meal and asked ourselves what is one of our favorite foods that we’ve never tried making. Crab legs! So we had a very delicious crab leg Christmas dinner. Despite him being sick over Christmas and passing it to me for New Year’s, we really enjoyed the quality time spent at home. Staycation ftw.

What does your January look like? Please share in the comments. If you write your own blog post, post the link here!

Leave a Reply

