Elgato Thunderbolt Dock

The D810 was released earlier this year, so I took advantage of the opportunity to find a good deal on a used D800. As most people familiar with the camera know, when you start using this beastly camera you have to rethink your data management. The file sizes are much larger. The benefit is more data to work with your images. The downside is the effect on storage, transfer rates, and working with the images. I have an external hard drive with the space to handle these files, but I was facing the problem of an older computer dealing with all this wonderful data and large file sizes. When uploading images to Lightroom, especially weddings, I’d have to step away from the computer and find some other way to keep myself busy. Any time I tried to save a Photoshop file, my computer would take its sweet time and ignores my pleas for mercy.

Being a new business owner, I carefully consider each and every purchase I make. A new computer is hopefully on the horizon, but at this point it’s not a reality. My computer works and the only issue is the speed. I wanted to find a solution for now that would also be beneficial when I do upgrade my computer. While my external drives are USB 3.0, my computer only supports USB 2.0. The difference in technology was creating a huge bottleneck. Enter the Elgato Thunderbolt Dock. I purchased mine from the Apple Store to take advantage of the ASMP discount. The ETD communicates with my computer through the Thunderbolt connection and allows me to connect my hard drives to the dock’s USB 3.0 ports. According to howtogeek.com, “USB 3.0 is theoretically more than ten times faster than USB 2.0.” According to this article, Thunderbolt 2 […] is twice as fast as the next-gen USB 3.1.” Hallelujah. The dock has more ports which will allow for further expansion. You can read the tech specs here. Bonus, I no longer have to reach around the back of the computer to plug-in headphones or a USB device. If you’re looking for a way to get a little more juice out of your current setup consider trying out the Elgato Thunderbolt Dock.

Note: I was not compensated in any way by Elgato nor am I associated with the company. I simply enjoy their product enough to share. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

