Currently: Halt and Catch Fire, Wild, and NIN

purple and white orchid

Orchid from my recent trip to Panama

 

Feeling: Ancy. Since my days at the ballpark concession stand back when I was thirteen, I’ve always had a job. After college I moved to Atlanta and became financially independent with my first full-time job. My focus since moving to Houston has been launching my photography business. I have so much to do to make this happen but it’s frustrating not having an income stream. I know it takes time, but it’s making me feel very ancy right now.

Watching: Halt and Catch Fire. Since Silicon Valley ended I decided to give Halt and Catch Fire a try since it had a similar techie start-up storyline. Silicon Valley is a comedy, and Halt and Catch Fire is it’s drama counterpart. It takes place in the Silicon Prairie of Texas during the 1980’s personal computer revolution. After a few episodes I still have a hard time digesting the Pie Maker (Lee Pace) as such an intense character.

Reading: Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed. It’s a memoir of a woman hiking the Pacific Crest Trail which runs from Mexico to Canada. Cheryl hikes in hopes of finding a direction for her life after losing her mother to cancer, divorcing her loving husband, and disconnecting from her family.

Eating: Snap Kitchen meals. During the year and half I was working full-time, going to school at night, and planning my wedding I packed on more than a few pounds. My husband and I decided to try some local pre-made, portion controlled, balanced meals. To be perfectly honest I don’t enjoy health foods, so some of the meals are definitely hard to choke down. Moving forward I think we’ll opt for a few pre-made lunches and home-cooked dinners.

Looking Forward To: Nine Inch Nails and Sound Garden concert. My husband and I love going to rock concerts, and Nine Inch Nails put on a fantastic show. In fact, we ordered the tickets before we even moved out here. I’ve never seen Sound Garden live so that is something to look forward to as well. They are hitting a lot cities and tickets are still on sale!

Making Me Happy: My new planner from Lilly Pulitzer. I started to add a September appointment to my Erin Condren planner and realized it ended in August. The Lilly Pulitzer planner starts in August and had the horizontal layout I’ve been looking for so it worked out. I’ve transferred a lot over already and look forward to seeing how it works for me. I plan on doing a comparison video in a few months so look out for that.

What’s are you up to currently? Please share in the comments. If you write your own blog post, post the link here!

One thought on “Currently: Halt and Catch Fire, Wild, and NIN

  1. Pingback: Best Links: Alien Portraits, Fail Dogs, and Fried Egg Sandwiches | TehSonz

Leave a Reply

