Best Links: Turn Blue, Protein Smoothies, and Cameras

I’m heading out of town for two weeks, so I thought I’d leave you with an extra dose of Best Links. Enjoy and see you on the flip side!

Music // Hip, hip hop, hip hop anonymous. Maybe I’m missing Atlanta, but I’ve been revisiting some old hip hop favorites. if you’ve been craving some awesome beats too, I recommend checking out the Hyped Up Hip Hop station on Slacker.com.

I’ve been digging some Black Keys lately. “Fever” off their new album Turn Blue is a fun one to crank up in the car. In a time full of auto-tuned pop entertainers, it’s refreshing to hear music from actual musicians that sound like humans rather than robots. I’d love to hear your experience if you’ve been to one of their concerts. Looks like they’ll be in town right in time for my birthday…

Photography // I’ve been waiting to upgrade my camera for a long. They say not to buy new gear until you’ve reached the limits of your current gear. I’m right at the precipice of this with my current camera. I’ve been eyeing the Nikon D800 for a long time but never pulled the trigger because of the hefty price tag. I was excited to hear Nikon has released an updated version, the Nikon D810. The D810 is definitely at the top of my list if the timing and funds work out for an upgrade. They are also releasing a Film Makers Kit which sounds perfect for aspiring DSLR filmmakers.

Working with Off Camera Flash and TTL Light, light, light. Photography is all about the light. I constantly remind myself to analyze the light in a situation before taking any pictures. When you’re comfortable getting the photos you want with natural light, I highly recommend learning off camera flash. It will take your photos to the next level. It can seems really intimidating in the beginning. But there really is nothing to it but to do it. Practice and play and then think about what worked and what didn’t work. If something works and you want to remember the setup, sketch a quick diagram. Stick figures and elementary shapes are perfectly acceptable. It will be a great resource for you in the future. And hey, if you end up preferring natural light, you’ll at least be equipped for those less than ideal situations.

Humor // Stupid Low Calorie Dinner Ideas That Reflect What Eating Healthy Actually Feels Like Ok, this is not one of Buzzfeeds best lists but it’s pretty pertinent to my life right now. When I first moved to Texas, I went a little nuts on the Mexican food. I mean, cheese, guacamole, and margaritas… I’d be stupid not to try every Tex-Mex place within 10 miles. Anyways, I’m getting back on the healthy train which means eating less than delicious meals. The Detoxing Dinner Salad one is pretty much me to a T, Food Network and all.

24 Things We Unexpectedly Become Obsessed With In Our Late 20s Coming into your late 20s is a very pivotal time. The days of college frivolity and binge drinking feel like another lifetime. Friends are getting engaged, married, moving across the country, and coming up in their careers. Don’t forget having their first, second, or third child. Seriously, when did Facebook become Babybook? A few of these are off-base (for me at least) like throwing Martha Stewart caliber parties and owning a Vitamix. Some are golden though like an obsession with Brunch and Rewatching movies from our childhood. I’m a total 90’s nostalgia freak. Turtle Power!

Health // In my effort for a healthier lifestyle, I’ve been trying out different breakfasts that are filling, give me energy, and are easy to make. I’ve tried a few of the drinks off this list 7 Delicious Protein Smoothie Recipes. If you try the Peachy Green Protein Smoothie make sure you let it blend for a long time. Having to chew the kale in your drink is not so tasty. If you aren’t really a fruit or greens person the Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Smoothie is delicious!

How to Master Breathing I’m lucky enough to have a pool right outside my apartment. I wanted a way to workout outside that’s not running. Seriously, I hate running. Swimming sounded like a great option. While I was an awesome swimmer as a kid, I haven’t actually swam laps in a long time. I knew my technique needed work when I came home with sore underarms and a belly full of pool water. The site has some good advice on breathing techniques as well as stroke techniques. I feel like I need to attend a baby swimming class where we just practice putting our faces in the water.

Stuff // I shared a little about my Saddleback backpack which will be accompanying me during my upcoming trip. It really is a beautiful, well-made bag. It’s one I’m sure I’ll have for a long, long time.

Polaroid Z2300 10MP Digital Instant Print Camera (White) I grew up on film cameras, but my first digital camera was love at first click. Still, there is nothing quite like taking a picture and instantly having a print in your hands. The Polaroid Z2300 combines the best of both worlds. I would love to get my hands on one of these! I remember getting a new camera for my birthday back in high school. Digital cameras were just becoming popular in the consumer market, and I had to make the tough decision between film and digital. I asked the store clerk is there was a camera that offered both. Clearly, I was ahead of my time. And btw, I decided on the film camera which I still own!

I hope all my American friends have a wonderful Independence Day. Please feel free to share the best stuff you’ve found on the internet lately in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

