Little Leather Backpack

Saddleback leather backpack

First off, the title is a bit misleading. This ain’t no little bag. I’m not sure how I found the company, but I have been obsessed with Saddleback Leather for a few years now. Last year I bought the thin briefcase for my husband as a wedding gift. It’s a chunk of change so I wanted to make sure he liked it before I forked the dough over. I showed it to him online, and he eagerly agreed to the gift. I didn’t want to make him wait too long as our wedding was still a few months out so I surprised him with one of their wallets. (It seems to be discontinued now.) Once I saw his new leather wallet and briefcase in person, I knew I had to have one for myself. Surprise surprise, the backpack I’d been eyeing showed up under the Christmas tree.

leather backpack

The front pocket backpack is a bit beastly, but I’m an organizer so it was definitely the one for me. For reference, I’m 5’2″ and bought the medium size. When I wear the backpack it basically covers up my whole back. Being a leather store, I imagine their demographic skews male, but I think their female customers would benefit from a small size in addition to the medium and large. I chose the chestnut color which has a red tint. When the bag arrived it was even more awesome than the pictures. It’s a bag that gets lots of compliments.

Saddleback Backpack
Although it’s quite heavy, it’s a bag made for adventures. It has that Indiana Jones vibe. You just know it’s going to look better with age. The leather does scuff up a bit over time, but I think that’s part of the charm. I’ve had mine in the rain, and it looks no worse for the wear. Saddleback backs up their products with a hundred year warranty. (Let’s hope they are around that long.) The company uses durable hardware, high quality leather, and double-stitched seams.
main compartment
With the cinch tie and long leather strap, the main compartment can expand to fit so much! I primarily used it as a commuter bag when I lived in Atlanta. I could fit my normal purse stuff, planner, snacks, chargers and cable, etc. I also used it as an overnight bag and was able to fit a weekend’s worth of clothes with a sweater crammed on top. I especially like that the side pockets have space behind them. It’s great for quick access things. I used one side to hold my cell phone. Right now, my backpack is sitting in the corner of my office waiting to break loose again. Soon, bag, soon.

Tip: Be sure to break in the straps really well. They arrive very stiff but if you work it, they’ll soften up to fit your shoulders.

Do you have a leather bag you absolutely love?

Note: I was not compensated in any way by Saddleback Leather. I simply enjoy their product enough to share. All opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Little Leather Backpack

  1. Pingback: Best Links: Turn Blue, Protein Smoothies, and Cameras | TehSonz

Leave a Reply

