Tiger & Elephants

In my years of painting I never ventured into surrealism. I often painted animals, including tigers, from my art teacher’s huge collection of books but always kept it realistic. I struggled a bit with the concept so I decided to keep the definition of surrealism in mind, focusing on the subconscious or dream realm. I knew I wanted to incorporate a tiger and an elephant. The tiger because my Chinese zodiac is the fire tiger and an elephant as a shout-out to my Indian heritage. The treatment of the elephant represents the lighter, whimsical side of our mind and dreams while the tiger as the ultimate predator is the darker, lurking part. (There’s also a third meaning… War Eagle!)

Leave a Reply

